Natural stone as flooring material

A floor covering made of natural stone conjures timeless elegance into every home

Whether natural stone tiles or natural stone slabs, whether modern, rustic or Mediterranean style of living, the diverse application and design possibilities of a natural stone covering set almost no limits to the imagination, the high-quality ecological material massively enhances every home. Because a natural stone covering does not only look dignified, it also has an everlasting character, which creates an extravagant feeling of living.

More about natural stone floor coverings: Use, properties, advantages...

The secret of first-class floor coverings

The material of the floor covering used directly influences the quality of living in the room concerned. Here, natural stones stand for durability and dignified flair and express the individuality of the host. Easy to combine with any style of living, they exude cosy comfort in any home. Whether as tiles or slabs, with natural stone you give your home an unmistakably personal ambience.

Use of natural stone

Natural stone in the interior creates a comfortable living feeling and represents long-lasting value. In its uniqueness and attractiveness, natural stone as a holistic design element is hard to beat and can be used as tile, wall or floor covering. Thanks to its resistance to moisture, natural stone is also ideally suited as cladding for washbasins or bathtubs. Floor slabs, wall coverings and steps in bathrooms, living rooms, offices & kitchens as well as in outdoor areas can be easily combined to create a holistic appearance.

Properties of natural stone

Hardly any other floor covering has as many different advantages as a natural stone covering. It is anti-allergenic, easy to clean and therefore also unreservedly recommended for allergy sufferers and immune-sensitive persons, not least because bacteria can hardly ever settle on the smooth surface of natural stone. Due to its open-pored structure, it easily withstands fluctuating temperatures and high humidity and is therefore the ideal floor covering for the bathroom. Natural stone is non-flammable, robust, weatherproof and abrasion-resistant. The surface feels pleasant to the touch and is very easy to maintain and clean. Natural stone floor coverings are ideal for combination with underfloor heating, as they conduct and store heat very well. Thanks to their resistance, natural stone floors are much more hard-wearing than conventional floor coverings, which contributes to an extension of the average service life.

The advantages of natural stone at a glance

  • Aesthetic and timeless
  • Healthy and tolerable
  • Easy to clean and hygienic
  • Robust and durable
  • Good heat conductor, anti-slip and frost-resistant
  • Versatile in use

How can natural stone be processed?

How natural stone surfaces can be processed and designed depends on various factors, such as the type of stone, the material thickness and the mineral structure inside the stone. In any case, natural stone offers a wealth of colour and design possibilities that are found in hardly any other stone. The appearance of the natural stone does not allow conclusions to be drawn about specific possible uses, nor does its external appearance reveal the properties relevant to processing, such as moisture absorption and strength. In Germany there are numerous regional stone deposits whose extraction is economically profitable. One of the most important mining areas is Eichstätt, where first-class limestone such as Jura marble has been extracted for generations.

Solnhofen natural stone

The history of Solnhofen natural stone began millions of years ago in a subtropical sea. Over millions of years sedimentations were deposited there and formed layers of slate, which solidified over time and are today quarried as Solnhofener Naturstein or so-called Solnhofer Platte in the stone quarrying area between Kehlheim and Solnhofen (Bavaria). For centuries, the natural stone has been extracted exclusively by hand.

Solnhofen natural stone has an above-average density and a high degree of homogeneity, is colour and light-fast and, in its quarry-rough form, is slip and tread-resistant. Its versatility, good environmental balance and first-class biological building properties, such as almost complete freedom from emissions and radiation, are further characteristics that distinguish the "Solnhofener", as it is known in short, from other natural stone. Due to its high load-bearing capacity and tread resistance as well as its hygienic properties, the Solnhofen slab is also virtually made for use as a floor covering in public areas with high visitor frequency. Due to their homogeneous structure and high molecular density, Solnhofen natural stones are also ideally suited for combination with underfloor heating.

Care of natural stones

As resistant as natural stones are as a rule, you should nevertheless take a few tips on care. Acid-based cleaning agents are absolutely not recommended, as the acid of these cleaners can attack the surface of the natural stone and damage it irreparably. With a mild alkaline cleaning agent you are always on the safe side. Impregnation is often useful for natural stone surfaces, as it protects against dirt and makes cleaning easier. Inquire about special care products and professional cleaning instructions for your natural stone when you buy it.

Contact us...

Naturstein als Bodenbelag

Ein Bodenbelag aus Naturstein zaubert zeitlose Eleganz in jedes Heim

Ob Natursteinfliesen oder Natursteinplatten, ob moderner, rustikaler oder mediterraner Wohnstil, die vielfältigen Einsatz- und Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten eines Natursteinbelags setzen der Phantasie kaum Grenzen, das hochwertige ökologische Material wertet jedes Heim massiv auf. Denn ein Natursteinbelag sieht nicht nur gediegen aus, er besitzt einen unvergänglichen Charakter, welcher ein extravagantes Wohngefühl hervorruft.

Mehr zu Natursteinbodenbelägen: Verwendung, Eigenschaften, Vorzüge...

 

Das Geheimnis erstklassiger Bodenbeläge

Das Material des verwendeten Bodenbelags beeinflusst in direkter Weise die Wohnqualität des betreffenden Raumes. Natursteine stehen hier für Beständigkeit und gediegenes Flair und bringen die Individualität des Hausherrn zum Ausdruck. Leicht mit jedem Wohnstil kombinierbar, verströmen sie wohlige Behaglichkeit in jedem Heim. Ob als Fliesen oder Platten, mit Naturstein verleihen Sie Ihrem Zuhause ein unverwechselbar persönliches Ambiente.

Verwendung von Naturstein

Naturstein im Innenbereich schafft ein behagliches Wohngefühl und repräsentiert langlebige Werthaltigkeit. In seiner Einzigartigkeit und Attraktivität ist der Naturwerkstein als ganzheitliches Gestaltungsmittel kaum zu überbieten und kann als Fliesen-, Wand- oder Bodenbelag eingesetzt werden. Dank seiner Resistenz gegen Feuchtigkeit eignet sich Naturstein auch hervorragend als Verkleidung für Waschbecken oder Badewanne. Bodenplatten, Wandverkleidungen und Stufen in Badezimmer, Wohnzimmer, Büro & Küche sowie in den Außenanlagen können mühelos zu einem ganzheitlichen Erscheinungsbild zusammengefügt werden.

Eigenschaften von Naturstein

Kaum ein anderer Fußbodenbelag verfügt über so viele unterschiedliche Vorzüge, wie ein Natursteinbelag. Er ist antiallergen, gut zu reinigen und daher auch für Allergiker und immunsensible Personen vorbehaltlos zu empfehlen, nicht zuletzt deshalb, da sich auf der glatten Oberfläche des Natursteins Bakterien kaum jemals einnisten können. Durch seine offenporige Struktur hält er schwankenden Temperaturen sowie hoher Luftfeuchtigkeit mühelos stand und ist daher der ideale Bodenbelag für das Bad. Naturstein ist nicht entflammbar, robust, witterungsbeständig und abriebfest. Die Oberfläche fühlt sich angenehm an und ist spielend leicht zu pflegen bzw. zu reinigen. Natursteinbeläge bieten sich für die Kombination mit einer Fußbodenheizung geradezu an, da sie Wärme sehr gut zu leiten sowie zu speichern vermögen. Dank ihrer Widerstandsfähigkeit sind Natursteinböden wesentlich strapazierbarer als konventionelle Bodenbeläge, was zu einer Verlängerung der durchschnittlichen Lebensdauer beiträgt.

Die Vorzüge von Naturstein im Überblick

  • Ästhetisch und zeitlos
  • Gesund und verträglich
  • Pflegeleicht und hygienisch
  • Robust und langlebig
  • Guter Wärmeleiter, rutschhemmend und frostfest
  • Vielseitig verwendbar

Wie kann Naturstein verarbeitet werden?

Wie Natursteinoberflächen verarbeitet und gestaltet werden können, hängt von unterschiedlichen Faktoren, wie etwa der Gesteinsgattung, der Materialdicke und der Mineralstruktur im Inneren des Gesteins ab. In jedem Fall bietet Naturwerkstein eine Fülle von farblichen und gestalterischen Möglichkeiten, wie man sie bei kaum einem anderen Gestein findet. Dabei lässt die Optik des Natursteins weder Rückschlüsse auf bestimmte mögliche Verwendungszwecke zu, noch ist durch Äußerlichkeiten ersichtlich, welche verarbeitungsrelevanten Eigenschaften, wie etwa Feuchtigkeitsabsorption und Festigkeit, der Stein besitzt. In Deutschland existieren zahlreiche regionale Gesteinsvorkommen, deren Abbau wirtschaftlich lohnend ist, als eines der wichtigsten Bergwerksreviere ist Eichstätt zu nennen, wo seit Generationen erstklassige Kalksteine wie der Juramarmor gewonnen werden.

Solnhofener Naturstein

Die Geschichte des Solnhofener Natursteins begann vor Millionen von Jahren In einem subtropischen Meer. Dort lagerten sich über Jahrmillionen Sedimentierungen ab und bildeten Schichten von Schiefer, die sich im Laufe der Zeit verfestigten und heute als Solnhofener Naturstein bzw. als sogenannte Solnhofer Platte im Steinabbaurevier zwischen Kehlheim und Solnhofen (Bayern) abgebaut werden. Die Gewinnung des Natursteins erfolgt seit Jahrhunderten ausschließlich auf händische Weise.

Solnhofener Natursteine weisen eine überdurchschnittlich hohe Dichte sowie eine große Homogenität auf, sind farb- und lichtecht sowie in bruchrauer Form rutsch- und trittfest. Seine vielseitige Verwendbarkeit, seine gute Umweltbilanz sowie erstklassige baubiologische Eigenschaften, wie nahezu völlige Emissions- und Strahlungsfreiheit, sind weitere Eigenschaften, welche den "Solnhofener", wie er in der Kurzform genannt wird, von anderen Naturwerksteinen abheben. Durch seine hohe Belastbarkeit und Trittfestigkeit sowie seine hygienischen Eigenschaften ist die Solnhofer Platte zudem als Bodenbelag für öffentliche Bereiche, die eine hohe Besucherfrequenz aufweisen, geradezu wie geschaffen. Aufgrund ihrer homogenen Struktur und der hohen molekularen Dichte eignen sich Solnhofener Natursteine auch hervorragend für die Kombination mit einer Fußbodenheizung.

Pflege von Natursteinen

So widerstandsfähig Natursteine in der Regel sind, ein paar Hinweise sollten Sie bei der Pflege dennoch beherzigen. So sind Reinigungsmittel auf Säurebasis absolut nicht zu empfehlen, da die Säure dieser Reiniger die Oberfläche des Natursteins angreifen und irreparabel schädigen kann. Mit einem milden basischen Reinigungsmittel sind Sie diesbezüglich stets auf der sicheren Seite. Eine Imprägnierung ist bei Natursteinoberflächen oft sinnvoll, diese schützt vor Schmutz und erleichtert das Reinigen. Erkundigen Sie sich gleich beim Kauf nach speziellen Pflegemitteln und fachmännischen Reinigungshinweisen für Ihren Naturwerkstein.

Kontaktieren Sie uns...